The love of re-reading

I am a re-reader. I love revisiting my favourite characters and stories, there is something comforting in the familiar. I just started a re-read and that got me thinking about why I decided to do that. I have a LOT of books in my “to read” pile, both physical copies that I own, and ebooks that I have purchased or are waiting patiently on my bookshelf in the Overdrive app. But none of them appealed to me. I didn’t want to be in a reading slump, I like always having something to read.

I am also trying to limit my screen time before bed, I am a terrible sleeper and for the past couple of months I have been a REALLY terrible sleeper. Maybe all of those articles about the blue right were right?

IMG_0022

My current re-read is The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I read it for the first time many summers ago, half of it aloud with a group of friends and then finished it on my own (after NEEDING to own my own copy). I think I have read it a total of two times and each time I laughed and cried as I was sucked into the little world created on a Channel Island. A friend reminded me of the fact that there was supposed to be a movie version of the book, and we both have wondered what happened to those plans. I am torn about a movie version. On the one hand yay! One of my favourite stories will be brought to life on the big screen, and on the other hand, no one of my favourite movies will be brought to life on the big screen. There is always something left out in movie versions, or something that doesn’t look like it did in your head when you were reading.

Sometimes it is just nice knowing what to expect of your reading choice.

Leave a Reply

